Congratulations to the recipients of the 2014 NAST PHL Outstanding Scientific Papers

Two publications from MSI scientists and researchers were recognized by the National Academy of Science and Technology Philippines (NAST PHL) as  Outstanding Scientific Papers during the 36th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) on July 09 and 10, 2014 held at the Philippine International Convention Center, Manila, Philippines with the theme “Infrastructure, Information, and Innovation for National Development, Competitiveness, and Resiliency”. The Outstanding Scientific Paper Award is given annually to recognize outstanding scientific papers published in Philippine scientific or technical journals within five years preceding the award.

The awardees are: Arjay Cayetano, Aletta Yñiguez, Cesar Villanoy, Laura David, Josephine Dianne Deauna, Eileen Peñaflor, Joseph Dominic Palermo, Garry Benico and Rhodora Azanza for their paper titled “Improving the validity and robustness of a Harmful Algal Bloom model through genetic algorithm-based optimization”. The article was published at the Journal of Environmental Science and Management and can be accessed at

The other awardees are: Deo Florence Onda, Garry Benico, Arielle Sulit, Paul Lorenzo Gaite, Rhodora Azanza, and Arturo Lluisma for their paper titled “Morphological and molecular characterization of some HAB-forming dinoflagellates from Philippine waters”. The paper was published at the Philippine Science Letters and can be accessed at